Phalut Trek

Sandakphu Phalut trek or the shorter Sandakphu trek is a must do trek for people looking to explore Darjeeling/Sikkim hills with breathtaking panorama of Himalayan peaks. Sandakphu is the highest point of West Bengal at 3636 m/11926 ft in the district of Darjeeling and Phalut is another table top on the same ridge. This trek follows the famous Singalila Ridge, a prominent spur of high ground that lies at the southern end of a long crest, which runs down from the Kanchendzongha massif and forms the border between Sikkim & Nepal. One of the unavoidable necessities of trekking in Himalaya is that the best views are had from high up but the trek along this ridge, passing through small settlements, is perhaps the one of the most scenically rewarding in the Himalaya. This is indeed an ideal trek for the experienced trekkers in a Tea-House style. There are spectacular panoramic views of Nepal Himalayas including Kanchendzongha range, Makalu, Everest, Lhotse, Janu, Chamlang, Baruntse and a host of Sikkim peaks all seen in one stretch. The famous “Sleeping Buddha” formation of peaks is a delight for all. The Singalila National park area has rare species like Red Panda and is a birder’s paradise. Flowering of Rhododendrons and Magnolia turn the forest with red, pink and white shades during spring and foliage hue during fall.

Brief Itinerary:
Day 1

Pick Up                                       Approx time
Darjeeling to Mane bhanjang  : 26 km 1hrs 30min
NJP to Mane bhanjang             : 85 km 3hrs 30min

Day 2

On Foot
Mane bhanjang to Tumling/Tonglu : 9 km 6hrs

Day 3

Tumling/Tonglu to Kalapokhri  : 13 km 8hrs

Day 4

Kalapokhri to Sandakphu : 6km 4hrs

Day 5

Sandakphu to Timburey  :  15 km 7hrs

Day 6

Timburey to Srikhola : 4 km 3hrs

Day 7

Sandakphu to Phalut : 21 km 9hrs

Phalut to Gorkha : 15 km 7hrs
Gorkha to Srikhola : 12 km 6hrs
Day 8: Srihkola to Darjeeling 61 km 3hrs 30min
Srikhola to Siliguri 132 km 5hrs 20min

Panaroma of Peaks from Sandakphu and Phalut
  • Baruntse 7220m
  • Chamlang 7319m
  • Chomo Lonzo 7818m
  • Lhotse 8516m
  • Makalu 8462m
  • Mount Everest 8848m
  • Nuptse 7861m
  • Kanchenjunga 8586m
  • Talung 7349m
  • Rathong 6679m
  • Kabru N 7353m
  • Koktang 6147m